Gorski wins in Bethany, but has little to celebrate

Derrylyn Gorski carried the election in Bethany, but Republicans swept some long-held Democratic positions.

The most immediate change for Gorski will be felt on the Board of Selectmen, where Aileen Magda (R) will be seated along with Don Shea (R).

Results were as follows:

Derrylyn Gorski    931

Aileen Magda        906

Don Shea                919

Steve Thornquist  900


Lisa Amadeo (R) challenged and won over long-term treasurer Laurence Eisner (D), 945-862

Tax Collector David Forman (D) ran unopposed and received 1,296 votes.

The Board of Finance

The finance board lost its long-term chairman, Janet Brunwin.

Sharon Huxley (R) won with 1,004 votes, Sally Huyser (D) received 989 votes and will stay on. Brunwin received 974 votes.

The Board of Education

Some new faces will be seated on the Board of Education with John Paul Garcia (R) and Doreen Fox (D). Fox had 911 votes, Garcia had 907 votes and incumbent Vivian Shih had 860 votes. Brian Laubstein (R) received 855 votes and will not be seated.

Board of Assessment Appeal

Republicans Gary Ross and John Ford IV were voted to the Board of Assessment Appeals. Ross received 1,062 votes and Ford received 1,048. Democrat Nancy Spagnolo received 870 and will not be seated.

Planning and Zoning

Planning and Zoning also will see a turn-over, with three Republicans voted in and three Democrats voted out.

Michael Sullivan (R) received 956 votes, Douglas Goldner (R) 862 votes and Salvatore Amadeo (R) 945.

Democrats Mary Shurtleff (825), Patricia Winer (793) and Melissa Spear (858) will not be seated.

The Zoning Board of Appeals

Winners are Republicans James Seaton (961) and Lisa Gaw (867). Incumbent Democrats Ruth Beardsley (863) will return to the board, but James Gugliotti (834) will not.


Three alternates were re-elected to the Zoning Board of Appeals. They are Republicans Ryan Shea (923) and Thomas Magda (901) and Democrat Margaret Foley (859). Democrat Frances Doba (822) will not return to the board.

Amity Board of Education

James Stirling (D) was re-elected to the Amity Board of Education with 1,251 votes.

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

  • Donald R. Shea Jr.

    I would like to thank Bethany voters for supporting me and the entire Republican ticket. We will do our best to live up to your expectations. I congratulate Derry. Aileen and I will work with her to keep Bethany rural, keep taxes at a minimum, and maintain and enhance our roads and existing buildings.
    I thank Steve and all the other Democrates who were not re-elected for their years of service.

    Donald R. Shea Jr. Selectman

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. Amity Observer, 1000 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress